University of Virginia Library University of Virginia
Early American Fiction Collection

EAF Author: John Townsend Trowbridge

Works in the Collection      Manuscript Materials      Biographies      Other Resources

John Townsend Trowbridge, was born in 1827 and lived in Arlington, Massachusetts. His novels include Neighbor Jackwood, an antislavery novel; Lucy Arlyn; Coupon Bonds, and Other Stories; Farnell's Folly; and Neighbors' Wives. He was also the author of many children's stories and poetry, including The Vagabonds and The Emigrant's Story.

Works in the EAF Collection

"The Adopted Son: or, The Reward of Charity" , from Albert Simmons; or, The Midshipman's Revenge (1849) (Restricted)

Coupon Bonds, and Other Stories (1873)

The Deserted Family; or, Wanderings of an Outcast by Paul Creyton [pseud] (1853) (Restricted)

Kate the Accomplice; or, The Preacher and the Burglar by Paul Creyton [pseud] (1849) (Restricted)

Lucy Arlyn (1866) (Restricted)

Martin Merrivale: His X Mark by Paul Creyton [pseud] (1854) (Restricted)

Neighbor Jackwood by Paul Creyton [pseud] (1857) (Restricted)

Neighbors' Wives (1867) (Restricted)

Contemporary Biographies

From Oscar Fay Adams, A Dictionary of American Authors (1901)

From Samuel Austin Allibone, A Critical Dictionary of English Literature (1900)