University of Virginia Library University of Virginia
Early American Fiction Collection

EAF Author: John William De Forest (1826-1906)

Works in the Collection      Manuscript Materials      Biographies      Other Resources

John William De Forest was born in Seymour, Connecticut, in 1826. His earliest publications were two travel books documenting his adventures in Europe and the Orient. De Forest served in the Civil War as a Federal officer, and remained in the military until 1868. He then retired to New Haven, Connecticut, where he produced numerous novels and short stories. Many of these drew on his military experiences. With his novels Miss Ravenel's Conversion from Secession to Loyalty and Kate Beaumont, De Forest is considered a pioneer of realistic fiction.

Works in the EAF Collection

Honest John Vane: A Story (1875) (Restricted)

The Hungry Heart in Not Pretty, but Precious (1872) (Restricted)

Kate Beaumont (1872) (Restricted)

Miss Ravenel's Conversion from Secession to Loyalty (1867) (Restricted)

Overland: A Novel (1871) (Restricted)

Playing the Mischief: A Novel (1875) (Restricted)

Seacliff; or, The Mystery of the Westervelts (1859) (Restricted)

The Wetherel Affair (1873) (Restricted)

EAF Manuscript Materials

Letter: De Forest to Mrs. Platt (February 16, 1876)

Contemporary Biographies

From Oscar Fay Adams, A Dictionary of American Authors (1901)

From Samuel Austin Allibone, A Critical Dictionary of English Literature (1900)

Other Resources

Guides to John William De Forest manuscript holdings from UVA Special Collections :
DeForest, John William, Papers of: #7179

DeForest, John William, Papers of: #7179-a